Skip to main content

Food business classifications

We classify every food business in the Shire. Classification is determined by the food safety risk of the premises.

We work to help applicants understand what their food business will need to do to comply with the Food Act 1984 and gain registration.

Food premises that meet the requirements of Class 1, 2, or 3 businesses must be registered with us, and that registration transferred when a business is sold.

Class 4 food premises must notify us prior to commencing trade.

Food Premises Classification

Class 1

Handles, processes or serves ready to eat potentially hazardous food to groups, most vulnerable to food related illness (including hospital patients, nursing home residents or children in long day care)

Class 2

Supplies potentially hazardous unpackaged foods which need correct temperature control throughout the food handling process, including cooking and storage, to keep food safe (such as restaurants or take away foods)

Class 3

Supplies or handles unpackaged low risk foods or pre-packaged potentially hazardous foods which simply need refrigeration to keep them safe (such as milk bars or bread baking) and some community events

Class 4

Food businesses that are low risk to public health are must notify us that they are operating. Retailers, community groups and warehouses selling low risk packed and prepacked foods (such sausages cooked and served immediately, cooked cakes, jams and honey).

The Food Act does not require they be inspected but must submit a notification form. This ensures that we are aware of your details if required in cases like food recalls.

Food Safety Programs and Supervisors

Class 1 and 2 premises are also required by legislation to operate under a Food Safety Program as well as having a qualified Food Safety Supervisor to ensure that food handling is done safely.

This page was last updated on 8 April 2019.