Skip to main content
COVID-19 Coronavirus
Latest service changes: Seymour Resource Recovery Centre closed. Reduced hours at Pyalong. Extended hours at Broadford. No change to kerbside collections.
View full list of service updates including previous announcements
Activities for parents and children

Wallan and Beveridge

Children's library programs

Introduce your child to the world of books and joys of reading with our free early literacy programs. Held weekly at each branch throughout the year. No need to book, just come along to one the libraries.

Upcoming library events in Wallan and Beveridge

  • Babytime — Beveridge
    Mon
    30
    Mar
    When:
    Monday 30 March at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Where:
    Greater Beveridge Community Centre
    Audience:
    Families
    Babytime is a fun weekly session to bring your little ones along and start their journey into the joy of books. For babies up to the age of 18 months old.
  • Babytime — Wallan
    Thu
    02
    Apr
    When:
    Thursday 2 April at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Where:
    Wallan Customer and Library Service Centre
    Audience:
    Families
    Dates:
    • Thursday 9th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 16th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 23rd April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 30th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 7th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 14th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 21st May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 28th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 4th June 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    A fun session with songs and rhymes that provides the first steps to literacy for your child. Suitable for babies up to 18 months old.
  • Rhymetime — Beveridge
    Thu
    02
    Apr
    When:
    Thursday 2 April at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Where:
    Greater Beveridge Community Centre
    Audience:
    Families
    Dates:
    • Thursday 9th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Rhymetime is a fun weekly session to bring your little ones together for some fun in the library. Meet other families and have a read along together. Suitable for children aged 18 months - 3 years.
  • Rhymetime — Wallan
    Wed
    01
    Apr
    When:
    Wednesday 1 April at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Where:
    Wallan Customer and Library Service Centre
    Audience:
    Families
    Dates:
    • Thursday 2nd April 2020 at 11:30am - 12:30pm
    • Wednesday 8th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 9th April 2020 at 11:30am - 12:30pm
    • Wednesday 15th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 16th April 2020 at 11:30am - 12:30pm
    • Wednesday 22nd April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 23rd April 2020 at 11:30am - 12:30pm
    • Wednesday 29th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Thursday 30th April 2020 at 11:30am - 12:30pm
    An interactive session that builds pre-literacy skills for your child with songs, rhymes, finger plays and books. Suitable for ages 18 months to 3 years.
  • Storytime — Wallan
    Fri
    03
    Apr
    When:
    Friday 3 April at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Where:
    Wallan Customer and Library Service Centre
    Audience:
    Families
    Dates:
    • Friday 10th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 17th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 24th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 1st May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 8th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 15th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 22nd May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 29th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Friday 5th June 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Explore stories, sing songs and make craft together. Suitable for children 3 to 5 years.
  • Sensory Storytime — Wallan
    Sat
    04
    Apr
    When:
    Saturday 4 April at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Where:
    Wallan Customer and Library Service Centre
    Audience:
    Families
    Dates:
    • Saturday 18th April 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 2nd May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 16th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 30th May 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 13th June 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 27th June 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 11th July 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 25th July 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    • Saturday 8th August 2020 at 10:30am - 11:30am
    Sensory Storytime is fun, educational and very hands on. Suitable for ages 3 to 5 years.

Water awareness and swimming lessons

Mitchell Leisure Services operate the Kilmore Leisure Centre.

Our programs aim to increase confidence in water and teach water safety skills and swimming strokes.

The pool is heated and a shallow beach area for toddlers is also available.

Parents go in the water with their children if child is aged 0-5 years.

Crèche services are also available.

More information

General activities

Playgroups

Kindergarten programs — 3 year old

Spaces fill very quickly, so you need to book very early. Children usually need to have turned 3 years prior to starting.

These programs are not subsidised by government (unlike 4 year old programs).

Contact us

If your activity is not listed or you notice an error, please let us know by emailing mitchell@mitchellshire.vic.gov.au

Families are advised to check details themselves as they frequently change.

Related pages

This page was last updated on 2 July 2019.