Skip to main content
COVID-19 Coronavirus
Latest service changes: Resource recovery centres open for residents and local businesses (essential drop offs only).
View full list of service updates including previous announcements
News archive
Published Friday 17 August 2018
Tags:General, Media Release

Keen on local history? Join the Mitchell Shire Heritage Advisory Committee

If you’re passionate about Mitchell Shire’s history, promoting it and preserving it for future generations to enjoy, then the Heritage Advisory Committee could be for you.

The committee was formed in 2008 and aims to tap into the knowledge, skills and experiences of our community to provide Council with strategic advice and recommendations about Mitchell’s heritage.

We’re looking for people who live or work in the shire with an interest or expertise in heritage and local history, and who understand the role of local government in heritage and local historical issues.

There are eight positions available on the committee, which runs for a two-year term, with meetings held bi-monthly.

Mitchell Shire Mayor Rhonda Sanderson said the committee was a fantastic opportunity.

“Mitchell has a long and proud history and is home to some magnificent buildings and landmarks with strong links to the past,” Cr Sanderson said.

“We have everything from the former family home of Ned Kelly in Beveridge to Kilmore’s historic gaol and town hall and Seymour’s iconic courthouse and railway station.

“We value the knowledge and expertise of our community and the Heritage Advisory Committee is a fantastic opportunity to hear from people who are passionate about our history and who are keen to see it preserved into the future.

“I’d also like to thank the outgoing committee for all their hard work over the past two years and we look forward to working closely with new committee.”

Applications close at 9am on Monday 17 September 2018.

To apply or for more information, including the Terms of Reference, click HERE or visit a Customer and Library Service Centre.

This page was last updated on 22 February 2019.