Skip to main content
News archive
Published Thursday 23 May 2019
Tags:General, Media Release

High Street, Seymour speed limit change

Motorists travelling on High Street in Seymour will notice a slight change to the speed limit this week.

The section of High Street in front of St Mary’s College is now 40 km/h during school pick-up and drop-off times only.

Previously, the street's speed was permanently limited to 40 km/h. The street will now only be 40 km/h from 8am to 9.30am and 2.30pm to 4pm on school days. At all other times, it will be 50 km/h.

Flashing 40 km/h signs will begin operating this week and will activate during school times to make sure everyone has plenty of warning.

This section of High Street is a very busy area, with school children, road traffic, health services, aged-care living, residential houses, bike paths, pedestrian crossings, disability scooters, busy intersections, and a truck route.

The change follows a Notice of Motion at a Council meeting last year which received unanimous support from Councillors.

Quotes attributable to Mitchell Shire Mayor Councillor Bill Chisholm

“This is a great example of how a Councillor can bring the concerns of their local community to the attention of all Councillors so we can all work together to deliver a safe, practical outcome that benefits the whole community.

“As a Council, we take the safety of our local school children and parents as well as the other road users very seriously. I think this is a win-win for everyone.”

Quotes attributable to Mitchell Shire Councillor Fiona Stevens

“As a local who drives this road nearly every day, I have long shared the concerns raised with me. I am ecstatic to know we have now achieved a very welcomed common sense and safer outcome for all.

“As a result, Mitchell Shire Council requested the change and both Victoria Police, VicRoads and St Mary’s College supported the proposal.”

Quotes attributable to Mitchell Shire Councillor Rhonda Sanderson

“It’s great to be able to support the Seymour community with this change.”

This page was last updated on 23 May 2019.