Skip to main content
COVID-19 Coronavirus
Latest news updates, Council services changes, and ways to get help
View latest updates
News archive
Published Monday 24 June 2019
Tags:General, Media Release

E-waste banned in Victoria from July

To help protect the environment and recover more resources, the Victorian Government is banning all e-waste from being sent to landfill from 1 July.

E-waste – or electronic waste – is growing three times faster than the rate of standard waste across Victoria.

Residents can take anything with a plug, cord or battery free of charge to one of Mitchell Shire Council’s Resource Recovery Centres. E-waste will be collected and sent to processors where it will be disassembled, sorted and recycled.

E-waste items that can be recycled include:

  • Large appliances (‘white goods’, refrigerators, washing machines)
  • Lighting equipment (lamps, LEDs, compact fluorescent lamps)
  • Small appliances (Irons, toasters, hair dryers, watches)
  • Electrical and electronic tools (drills, saws, sewing machines, mowers)
  • IT and TV equipment (computers, laptops, phones, televisions)
  • Toys, leisure and sports gear (electric trains and cars, hand-held games, consoles, amplifiers, radios)

For more information on our Resource Recovery Centres in Broadford, Pyalong, Seymour and Wallan, please visit

Quotes Attributable to Mitchell Shire Council Mayor Councillor Bill Chisholm

“Minimising the impact e-waste has on our environment is important and that is why disposing of your old electronic devices correctly is important. We offer this service free of charge to make sure e-waste is taken to a better place,” he said.

“The e-waste ban means people can no longer dispose of anything with a battery, cord or plug into their bins. These kinds of items in landfill are hazardous and can hurt the environment.

“Next time you are going through your old electronics during a spring clean or a move, please make sure you bring your e-waste to one of our resource recovery centres.”

This page was last updated on 21 May 2020.