Skip to main content

Responsibilities of local government

Local government is the people's tier of government and is referred to as Council. The community votes in Council elections to choose councillors, who will represent their voice.

Local government is responsible for:

  • the function of and delivery of a complete range of services and infrastructure required by their individual communities
  • parks and gardens, roads, streets, bridges, libraries and swimming pool maintenance
  • a range of family, community and general services such as garbage collection and animal registration
  • devising, approving and enforcing local laws relating to building, planning and the health and wellbeing of each individual.

Guide to Local Government

Mitchell Shire is one of 79 Councils that collectively represent approximately 5 million Victorians. While each Council is independent, there are common rules under which Councils operate.

The Victorian Government has put together a Guide to Councils.

The Guide has information about how councils work, how they make decisions, what services they are responsible for delivering, how they are funded, and much more.

Other Levels of Government

Our National government is referred to as the Australian Government. It attends to matters that affect the nation as a whole. This includes the minting of money, relations with other nations, immigration and defence.

Each of the State and Territory Governments are generally responsible for police, public schools, hospitals, road laws and public transport. More information about the Victorian Government.

This page was last updated on 21 July 2020.