Skip to main content
COVID-19 Coronavirus
Stage three restrictions now in place.
What you need to know

Council elections

There are rules and policies that require declaration of political donations, placing campaign signs on Council land and how Council does business during a caretaker period in the lead up to an election.

The next general election of Councillors for Mitchell Shire Council will be held on 24 October 2020. Voting at the election is compulsory for residents of Mitchell Shire who are enrolled on the Victorian electoral roll.

General Election October 2016

A general election of Councillors for Mitchell Shire Council was held on 22 October 2016. The election was conducted on behalf of the Council by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC).

The results of the election were formally declared by the Returning Officer on Monday 31 October 2016 and the results are published on the Victorian Electoral Commission website.

The 9 successful candidates at the election have been elected for a 4-year term on the Council. For further information about the election including compulsory voting please contact the Victorian Electoral Commission by phoning 131 832 or view the VEC website.

Election Campaign Donation Returns

Each candidate in a local government general election is required to submit any election campaign donation return to the CEO of the Council within 40 days of election day.

We must make that information available on our website.

Donations Received by Candidates in the Mitchell Shire Council 2016 Election

CandidatePerson who made the giftTotal value of gift
Atkinson, DavidNo disclosable giftn/a
Callaghan, Desmond AnthonyNo disclosable giftn/a
Chisholm, William FrancisNo disclosable giftn/a
Cornish, Robert BruceNo disclosable giftn/a
Eldridge, Robert KeithNo disclosable giftn/a
Goble, Anne LouiseNo disclosable giftn/a
Humm, Robert Leslie GeorgeNo disclosable giftn/a
Langborne, Neal DavidNo disclosable giftn/a
Lee, Ross AlexanderNo disclosable giftn/a
Linton, LisaNo disclosable giftn/a
Lowe, David AndrewNo disclosable giftn/a
Marstaellar, SueNo disclosable giftn/a
Perrott, Leslie MarkNo disclosable giftn/a
Sanderson, Rhonda LeanneNo disclosable giftn/a
Stevens, Fiona ClaireNo disclosable giftn/a
Tullett, Carol MargaretNo disclosable giftn/a

Election campaign donation returns are also available for inspection at Mitchell Shire Council offices at 113 High Street, Broadford. To inspect a return please contact Council on 03 5734 6200.

Ward Boundaries

Mitchell Shire is subdivided into 3 wards, each represented by 3 elected Councillors.

Download a detailed Mitchell Shire Council Ward Map below.

Election Signage

Council does not allow any form of election advertising (from Federal, State or Local Government candidates) on any land owned and/or managed by Council. Penalties apply for disregarding the Mitchell Shire Council Election Signage Policy below.

Any enquires regarding election signage should be directed to the Local Laws Unit on 03 5734 6200.

Election Period Caretaker Policy

During an election period, Council conducts its business in caretaker mode. How that works is specified in the Election Period Policy. It helps to ensure that general elections for the Mitchell Shire Council are conducted in a manner that is ethical, fair and equitable.

This Policy was adopted March 2016 and has been prepared in accordance with section 93B of the Local Government Act 1989.

This page was last updated on 3 January 2020.