The election process

Information on the election of Councillors and signage policies


General Election - October 2012

A general election of Councillors for Mitchell Shire Council was held on 27 October 2012.  The election was conducted on behalf of the Council by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC).

The results of the election were formally declared by the Returning Officer on Monday 29 October 2012 and the results are published on the Victorian Electoral Commission website.

The nine successful candidates at the election have been elected for a four-year term on the Council.

Voting at the election was compulsory for residents of Mitchell Shire who are enrolled on the Victorian electoral roll. The Victorian Electoral Commission will be sending ‘apparent failure to vote' notices in January 2013.

For further information about the election including compulsory voting please contact the Victorian Electoral Commission on telephone 131 832 or view the VEC website.

The next general election of Councillors for Mitchell Shire Council will be held in October 2016.

Election Campaign Donation Returns

Under the Local Government Act 1989, each Candidate in the 2012 general election is required to submit an election campaign donation return to the Chief Executive Officer of the Council within 40 days after election day.

The Chief Executive Officer is required to make a summary of each election campaign donation return available on Council's website.

Download the Summary of Election Campaign Donation Returns (PDF, 16.8k)

Election campaign donation returns are available for inspection at Mitchell Shire Council offices, 113 High Street Broadford. To inspect a return please contact Lee McSweeney, Governance Coordinator on telephone 5734 6252.

Ward Boundaries

The Shire of Mitchell is subdivided into three wards, each represented by three elected Councillors.

Download a detailed Mitchell Shire Council Ward Map (PDF, 3.35MB)

Election Signage

Council adopted an Election Signage Policy in June 2012. Federal election candidates or any person participating in an election which affects residents within the Mitchell Shire should make themselves aware of the information contained within this Policy as penalties will apply if political signage is placed in contravention of the Policy.

Download the Election Signage Policy (PDF, 146.8k)

Any enquires regarding election signage should be directed to the Local Laws Department at Mitchell Shire on (03) 5734 6200.